Skip to Content

OSU-Cascades announces Distinguished Student Awards


Oregon State University-Cascades’ Distinguished Student Awards will be presented to 17 undergraduate and graduate students at a ceremony on Saturday.

The annual awards are among the top honors given by faculty to OSU-Cascades students and recognize outstanding academic achievement and contributions in students’ fields of study. All of this year’s recipients are from Oregon and include 13 students from Central Oregon. Two recipients will also graduate from the OSU Honors College.

The ceremony will take place at 3 p.m. in Tykeson Hall, Room 111 on the OSU-Cascades campus. The following members of the OSU-Cascades’ class of 2019 will receive an award:


Master of Counseling, Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Marjorie Gosling, Jacksonville

Master of Counseling, School Counseling
Allison Marlene Styffe , Bend

Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing
Yolanda Gomez, Eugene

Master of Arts in Teaching, Elementary Education
Lucas Adrian Reyes, Bend


Bachelor of Arts, American Studies
Luis Alberto Navez Dircio , Bend

Bachelor of Science, Biology
Deidre L Heil , Bend

Bachelor of Science, Business Administration
Kaitlyn Johnson, Bend

Bachelor of Science, Computer Science
Aaron Baker, Bend

Honors Bachelor of Science, Energy Systems Engineering
Gertrude Villaverde , Portland

Bachelor of Science, Hospitality Management
Cristina Bennett, Portland

Bachelor of Science Human Development and Family Sciences
Katie Weible , Bend

Honors Bachelor of Science, Kinesiology
Casey Russell Collier, Bend

Bachelor of Science, Natural Resources
Nick Daniel Maithonis , Bend

Bachelor of Science, Psychology
Aubrey F. Sills, La Pine

Bachelor of Arts, Social Science
Nathan Goldberg, Bend

Bachelors of Science, Sustainability and Accountancy
Jennifer Soto, Bend

Bachelor of Science, Tourism, Recreation and Adventure Leadership
Britt Elizabeth Hanson, Bend

To learn more about each of the award recipients, visit

Article Topic Follows: News

Jump to comments ↓

KTVZ News Team


KTVZ NewsChannel 21 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content