Skip to Content

FIFA sets January date for best player award ceremony


ZURICH (AP) — FIFA’s annual awards to honor the world’s best players and coaches in the 2020-21 season will be held on Jan. 17. A virtual ceremony will be hosted from FIFA headquarters in Zurich because of the COVID-19 pandemic. Votes from national team captains and coaches, fans and media worldwide will be collected from Nov. 22 to Dec. 10. The best player awards in 2020 were won by Robert Lewandowski of Bayern Munich and Lucy Bronze. She played for Lyon and Manchester City that season. The FIFA awards are separate from the Ballon d’Or awards organized by France Football magazine.

Article Topic Follows: AP National Sports

Jump to comments ↓

Associated Press


KTVZ NewsChannel 21 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content