Skip to Content

French Open Fast Facts

CNN Editorial Research

(CNN) — Here’s a look at the French Open tennis tournament.

May 26-June 9, 2024 – The French Open takes place at Roland Garros Stadium in Paris.

May 22-June 11, 2023 – The French Open takes place at Roland Garros Stadium in Paris.


The French Open is one of four Grand Slam tennis tournaments. The others are the Australian Open, Wimbledon and the US Open.

It is the only Grand Slam tournament played on a clay court.

2024 Results

Carlos Alcaraz wins his third grand slam title and first French Open title, defeating Alexander Zverev 6-3 2-6 5-7 6-1 6-2. Alcaraz becomes the youngest man to claim a grand slam title on every surface having won the US Open in 2022 and Wimbledon in 2023.

Iga Świątek wins her third consecutive French Open title with a 6-2 6-1 victory against Italy’s Jasmine Paolini.

Open Era Records

Rafael Nadal has the most men’s singles wins with 14.

Chris Evert has the most women’s singles wins with seven.

Djokovic was the oldest in the Open era to win the men’s singles title, at 36 years and 20 days of age in 2023.

Michael Chang was the youngest to win the men’s singles title at 17 years and three months of age in 1989.

In 1990, Monica Seles was the youngest woman to win the singles title, at 16 years and six months of age.

Serena Williams is the oldest woman to win the singles title, at 33 years and eight months of age in 2015.


1891 – The first French tournament, the International Championship of Tennis, is held and is limited to members of French clubs.

1897 – Women’s singles matches are added to the tournament, but still restricted to French club members.

1925 – The tournament is opened to international competitors from non-French clubs. Women’s doubles are also added.

1928 – The tournament moves to a new stadium. The stadium and tournament are named after Roland Garros, and the tournament is still widely known by that name. Garros was an aviator who made the first successful crossing of the Mediterranean in 1913.

1940-1945 – The tournament is canceled due to World War II.

1956 – Althea Gibson wins the women’s singles title, becoming the first African American player to win a Grand Slam event.

1968 – The Roland Garros is the first Grand Slam to become an open tournament.

2006 – The French Open awards equal prize money to the men’s and women’s singles champions, although disparity remains in all other rounds.

2007 – Equal prize money is awarded to all female and male players across the board in all events. The French Open is the last of the four Grand Slam tournaments to make the move for equal pay in prize money.

2011 – Li Na becomes the first Chinese national to win a Grand Slam.

March 17, 2020 – It is announced that the Open has been rescheduled due to the coronavirus pandemic. Originally set for May 18-June 7, the 2020 tournament takes place September 21-October 11.

May 30-June 13, 2021 – Originally scheduled for May 7-June 6, 2021, the French Open takes place. It was rescheduled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

™ & © 2024 Cable News Network, Inc., a Warner Bros. Discovery Company. All rights reserved.

Article Topic Follows: CNN - World

Jump to comments ↓

CNN Newsource


KTVZ NewsChannel 21 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content